Need help in understanding iterator3.rs in rustlang exercise

Hi, I am new to rust I need help understanding the iterator3.rs code in rustlang exercise.

#[test]
    fn result_with_list() {
        let numbers = vec![27, 297, 38502, 81];
        let division_results = numbers.into_iter().map(|n| divide(n, 27));
        let x: Result<Vec<i32>, DivisionError> = division_results.collect();
        assert_eq!(format!("{:?}", x), "Ok([1, 11, 1426, 3])");
    }

#[test]
    fn list_of_results() {
        let numbers = vec![27, 297, 38502, 81];
        let division_results = numbers.into_iter().map(|n| divide(n, 27));
        let x: Vec<Result<i32, DivisionError>>= division_results.collect();
        assert_eq!(format!("{:?}", x), "[Ok(1), Ok(11), Ok(1426), Ok(3)]");
    }

How does the collect function turn the Result into [Ok(1), Ok(11), Ok(1426), Ok(3)] or Ok([1, 11, 1426, 3])? In haskell you have special functions to turn the Monads inside out. I don't understand how it works here.
For example
let x: Result<Vec, DivisionError> = division_results.collect();
and this line
both return different result

The collect method uses the FromIterator trait. The standard library contains this implementation of FromIterator for Result, which returns Err(..) if any item of the iterator is an error, or Ok(..) otherwise.

impl<A, E, V> FromIterator<Result<A, E>> for Result<V, E>
where
    V: FromIterator<A> { ... }
1 Like

Thanks for the answer. But my question is how does the collect know which of the FromIterator to implement

for example this line
and this line

collect is a generic function that uses FromIterator, and FromIterator itself has many generic implementations. There are a lot of options for which implementation to use, so the answer to your question is that sometimes, collect doesn't know which implementation to use:

Because collect() is so general, it can cause problems with type inference.