NaN vs Result in math standard libraries

I am new to Rust and loving it. I recently hit a bug in c++ using acos where rounding errors made a calculation slightly larger than 1 which would return NaN from acos causing failures later on. It took a while to track down and fix, and I thought “I bet Rust would have prevented that error by having acos return a Result”. When I looked however the std acos in rust returns NaN instead of a Result.

I am curious what the reasoning was for Rust to return NaN instead of Result for cases such as this or getting the sqrt of a negative number. Is it for performance reasons? Or just a result of directly wrapping the standard C library? I was also hoping there might be a crate that safely wraps them, but couldn’t find one. Does a crate exist that returns Results for standard math functions?

Rust in general has its floating-point types match whatever the IEEE behaviour is, so that canonical algorithms do what’s expected of them.

I’d love to see a thorough crate with never-NAN float types, especially since I think that’s a better answer to "f32 isn’t Ord" sadness than a newtype that arbitrarily sorts NANs at one end, making min and max confusing.

What do you think about noisy_float, which was recently discussed in the context of the Chucklefish AMA on Reddit? Basically, it gives you float wrappers that check for absence of NaN and inf in debug mode.

In general, I tend to think about NaN as a product of bad design in IEEE 754, right next to denormals. Trapping on invalid or abnormally lossy math operations would have been a much better default, but the IEEE commitee got stuck in a Javascript-like “must keep running at all cost no matter how stupid the result gets” mentality, of which you can still find traces if you look at the writings of Kahan from around that time. Of course, you can work around this hardware ALU design flaw in software, but it’s quite costly, which is why no sane programming environment does it in release mode.