Mutably iterating over a sparse subset of items from a Vec (via their indices) in parallel (using Rayon)

Hi! I'm new to Rust, and below is some (non-working) Rust code that tries to mutably iterate over a subset of the Vecs within vecs and push an integer onto each in parallel (playground):

use rayon::prelude::*; // 1.1.0

fn main() {

let mut vecs = vec![
        vec![1, 2, 3],
        vec![1, 2, 3],
        vec![1, 2, 3],
        vec![1, 2, 3],
        vec![1, 2, 3],
        vec![1, 2, 3],
    ];

let mut indices = vec![4, 3, 1];

// Ensure all indices are unique to ensure safety:
    indices.sort_unstable();
    let len = indices.len();
    indices.dedup();
    assert!(indices.len() == len);

indices.par_iter().for_each(|index| {
        unsafe { vecs[*index].push(4); }
    });

println!("{:?}", vecs);

}

As you can see, my plan was to make sure all the indices are unique so that I can safely use unsafe code within the for_each closure which mutates the vecs. But the unsafe block doesn't seem to be working because I get this compiler error:

cannot borrow `vecs` as mutable, as it is a captured variable in a `Fn` closure

In the "real" version of this code the vecs Vec is actually a Vec of structs that I'm calling a method on which mutates the struct. The number of items in the real vec is very large (e.g. 1,000 to several million elements), and the number of indices can be very small or very large (e.g. 0.1% or 100%).

Is there a way to get this sort of thing to work? Or is there a better way to do it? I couldn't think of any way to get it to work without relying on unsafe. Thank you!

Hi, unsafe block don't make any code compile, they only allow:

Dereference a raw pointer
Call an unsafe function or method
Access or modify a mutable static variable
Implement an unsafe trait