Mutable callback container

Hi everyone,
I'm a rust beginner with extensive C++ background. To teach myself the language, I'm trying to implement an epoll reactor. One way I would do this in C++ is for the reactor to own a list of callbacks objects that can alter the reactor, to say, add a new listener/callback or remove itself.
I am running into a compile issue because I cannot simultaneously mutably borrow a reference to the callback owned by the reactor and also call the callback with a mutable reference to the reactor.
Here's a summarized version of my problem:

use std::collections::HashMap;

trait Iface {
  fn fun(&mut self, c: &mut Container);
}

struct Container {
  map: HashMap<i32, Box<dyn Iface>>,
}
impl Container {
  fn do_it(&mut self) {
    if let Some(i) = self.map.get_mut(&123) {
    // if let Some(mut i) = self.map.remove(&123) {
      i.fun(self);
      // self.map.insert(123, i);
    } else {
      panic!("unexpected");
    }
  }
}

struct Thing {}
impl Iface for Thing {
  fn fun(&mut self, c: &mut Container) {
    c.map.insert(456, Box::new(Thing{}));
  }
}

fn main() {
  let mut c = Container{map:HashMap::new()};
  c.map.insert(123, Box::new(Thing{}));
  c.do_it();
  for key in c.map.keys() {
    println!("{}", key);
  }
}

I workaround here (commented) was removing the callback from the map, then re-adding it after, but this seems clunky and inefficient.
What's an idiomatic way to do this in rust?
Thanks

So, one problem here is that anything with mutable access to the HashMap can just replace the whole HashMap / drop all the items in it, etc. This is why you can’t simply hold a reference “into” the map while offering some other place in the code mutable access.