Mutable and immutable borrow on same line?

Hi,

I'm new to Rust. I'm trying to understand what I'm doing wrong in the code below. The error I get is not clear to me. Specifically, it seems to indicate that the line parent.count_children() is an immutable borrow and also a mutable borrow. I've gone through the rust docs and tried to relate what I'm doing to the borrowing and lifetime sections of the docs, but something is not clicking. For example, I'm naming the lifetime parameters after what I think is the lifetime they should be describing (ex. 'child for the Child struct), but I'm not sure that is right. I've read through the help for E0502 but that still doesn't seem to explain why the code is wrong.

The code is basically trying to have a parent object that owns some assets, and shares those asset with child objects. The parent can add children and report how many children it has. Since the parent maintains the lifecycle of the child objects, the children should not live beyond the lifecycle of the parent and therefor should not be at risk of referencing assets that have gone out of scope when the parent goes away.

I've tried a simpler example where the parent struct has the same interface (new, add_child, count_children) but internally just has a list of i32 for children. That compiles and runs just fine. So there is something about having references to other structs that is causing the problem.

Why does the following code fail to compile? What does the compiler message referring to when the ^ are underneath the whole line? Where is the gap in my understanding of borrowing?

use std::fmt::{Display, Formatter};

#[derive(Debug)]
struct Assets {
    assets: Vec<i128>,
}

struct Child<'child> {
    assets: &'child Assets,
}

impl<'child> Child<'child> {
    fn new(assets: &'child Assets) -> Self {
        Child { assets }
    }
}

impl Display for Child<'_> {
    fn fmt(&self, f: &mut Formatter<'_>) -> std::fmt::Result {
        write!(f, "{:?}", self.assets)