Multithreading with multiple writes to same slice without lock

I need a way to write to an array with multiple threads, but without mutexes because I need maximum performance.

My algorithm guarantees that the accessed indices are unique. I've spent the last 8 hours trying to find out how to do this, so any help would be very much appreciated.

I'm also I still don't really grok how "Cell", "Arc" and so on work because I'm new to the language.

This is what I found out, but I don't really know how to make it work:

struct UnsafeContainer<T> {
    data: UnsafeCell<T>,
}

impl<T> UnsafeContainer<T> {
    fn new(data: T) -> UnsafeContainer<T> {
        UnsafeContainer {
            data: UnsafeCell::new(data),
        }
    }
}

unsafe impl<T> Sync for UnsafeContainer<T> {}
unsafe impl<T> Send for UnsafeContainer<T> {}

pub fn caller(arr: &mut [i32]) {
    let mut buf: Vec<i32> = vec![0; arr.len()]
    do_something(&mut arr[..arr.len()/2], &mut arr[arr.len()/2..], &mut buf[..], 8);
}

fn do_something(arr1: &[i32], arr2: &[i32], arr3: &'static mut [i32], num_cores: usize) {
    let mut children = Vec::new();

let shared = Arc::new(UnsafeContainer::new(arr3));

for i in 0..num_cores {
        let container = shared.clone();
        children.push(thread::spawn(move || unsafe {
            println!("{:?}", container.data.get());
            // I really want to read from one of the arrays here and write to arr3
        }));
    }

for child in children {
        child.join();
    }
}

I added the static because the compiler told me to add it, but then I have to add it to the method that calls this, and so on until I'm not able to add static anymore. :frowning: This is probably a really stupid question due to me not understanding Rust's type system, but I would be very thankful if you could help.