Multithreaded References

First of all, I am new to rust, But it is my understanding that Rust
only allows the user to have a reference of any mutable variable inside of one thread. I see why Rust does this, but I suggest that instead of allowing what was stated above, to allow the user to have only one mutable reference of a variable throughout a the project, but to allow the user to have any number of non-mutable references in other threads.

Currently what can be done:

//this code is prefectly acceptable--------
fn main() {

let x = 10;

std::thread::spawn(move || {
     loop {
          println!("thread 2 x: {}", x);
     }
});

loop {
     println!("thread 1 x: {}", x)
}

}
//-----------------------
//this code is not acceptable but 
//I believe should be:
fn main() {

let mut x = 10;

std::thread::spawn(move || {
  //the mutable reference has been moved here:
   loop {
          x += 1;
          println!("thread 2: {}", x);
     }
});

//but the non-mutable reference can still be used, as it can't be modified.
loop_function(&x);

}

fn loop_function(x: &i32) {
     loop {
          println!("thread 1: {}", x);
     }
}

Although the latter does compile, x copies itself into the loop_function so it doesn't get modified. I think that only one thread should be able to modify a certain variable, but any thread should be able to read it.

The idea of only allowing a mutable reference if no other references (mutable or immutable) exist is a fundamental property of the safety of Rust.
Imagine you had a mutable reference to a vector as well as one or more immutable references (in the same thread or other threads doesn't really matter for that example). Then you could use the immutable reference to iterate through the vector while you could use the mutable reference to modify the vector, which might lead to all kinds of problems.

A few things to note here: