More formal explanation of ownership, borrowing, lifetimes, and mutability?

There’s been a decent amount written, in the two Rust books, the Nomicon, and lots of blog posts, about Rust’s concepts of ownership, borrowing, lifetimes, and mutability. These are all written as talky tutorials, leading the reader through lots of contrived code examples and so on. That’s fine for what it is, but for some reason there seems to be an extreme reluctance to give relatively pithy and precise definitions and explanations of these terms. I’ve been writing Rust for a couple months now, and I still have only a vague, impressionistic idea of how these concepts work in Rust.

Is there some written material on these concepts that’s a little more precise and formal? Or could someone very briefly explain them to me in a way I might find helpful?

I’ll give an example of a simple thing that I cannot explain based on my current understanding.

$ cat trash.rs
#![allow(unused_variables)]
struct S<'a>(&'a mut u64);

fn main() {
    let mut x = 5;
    let mut y = 6;
    let mut s = S(&mut x);
    let mut t = S(s.0);
    s.0 = &mut y;
}
$ rustc trash.rs
error[E0506]: cannot assign to `s.0` because it is borrowed
 --> trash.rs:9:5
  |
8 |     let mut t = S(s.0);
  |                   --- borrow of `s.0` occurs here
9 |     s.0 = &mut y;
  |     ^^^^^^^^^^^^ assignment to borrowed `s.0` occurs here

error: aborting due to previous error

This error message is strange to me because I have previously inferred (not really explicitly been told) that borrowing a thing means taking a reference to it. But I never take a reference to s.0. Again, what does borrowing actually mean?

And if the code above gives that error, why in the world does the following code not give a similar error?

fn main() {
    let mut x = 5;
    let mut y = 6;
    let mut a = &mut x;
    let b = a;
    a = &mut y;
}

Thanks.