MongoDB insert generic / dynamic struct field

Hello Community!
I'm new to rust and started learning by writing a web service with actix and mongodb.

Is there a way to have a struct field that can have different types depending on an enum value?

The enum is:

#[derive(Serialize, Deserialize, Debug, Display)]
#[serde(rename_all = "lowercase")]
pub enum ParameterType {
    #[strum(serialize="kilometer")]
    KILOMETER(i64),
    #[strum(serialize="review")]
    REVIEW(String)
}

The Schema is:

#[skip_serializing_none]
#[derive(Serialize, Deserialize)]
pub struct Schema<T> {
    pub _id: ObjectId,
    pub user_id: ObjectId,
    pub parameter_type: ParameterType,
    pub value: T
}

Let's say, I have a variable "p" of ParameterType - how can I set the generic based on that ParameterType, like:

let p = ParameterType::KILOMETER;
    let schema = parameter::Schema<p> {
        _id: ObjectId::new(),
        user_id: authenticated_user._id,
        parameter_type: p,
        value: 7 // i64
    }

is there any way to achieve this?
An alternative would be to have something like an "std::any::Any" type that can be inserted to mongodb regardless of it's type, like - it can be a String or an i64...

thank you in advance!

You are passing an instance of ParameterType, not the ParameterType type. Since you are new to Rust I would suggest that you formulate your questions based on what you want to achieve, and not how you want to achieve it, because you are using patterns from other languages that are not replicable in Rust or are not the best solution to achieve the results you are looking for.

1 Like

sorry on this one.

what I want to achieve is to insert a document to mongodb based on a struct, that has a field with a dynamic type that can be for instance a String or an i64. Nevermind about the enum thing - it's just about having a field that can differ in type :>

Then create an Enum of Schemas: