Modern Design Patterns in Rust

Hello everyone!

I'm very new to the language but i did not found any resources about this topic.
I'm looking for resources about modern design patterns in Rust.

Rust ist quite new but i want to elaborate whether there are already established patterns in the language.
Do you think it's a good practice to translate established patterns one-to-one into Rust?
For example like a factory, adapter etc. pattern.

I found an old repository (Design Patterns in Rust) with implemented patterns. But it seems like the author does not update it anymore.

Thanks for your help!

3 Likes

The gang of four's design patterns mostly exist to bypass limitations or to serve as guide for programming languages like Java. You shouldn't try to use them in all languages, and especially not in Rust.

Rust could have its own patterns, but I don't think anyone wrote anything about this yet.

7 Likes

maybe we should start a special thread and start collecting those. We already got the "What’s everyone working on this week?" threads. This could be made into a chapter in the book or a special purpose repo later on.

2 Likes

They are called "functional pearls".

1 Like

Cool but:

1. Links? I found a $50 book :smiley:
  2. Rust is not a purely functional language and has its own characteristics. I would be interested e.g. in ownership patterns too

Agreed, but many of the compositional and abstractive patterns still apply. Maybe someone should write a book on functional programming in Rust. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I'm interested in this topic, too!

1 Like

Is anyone working on a book or blog? I would like to understand some of the design patterns in Rust as well.

There is now https://github.com/nrc/patterns, but it is a bit stagnated.

I think "patterns" isn't a good name for what people are looking for. Perhaps a collection of "best practices" would be more inviting.

1 Like

Well, "patterns", or, more generally, "design patterns", is the correct term.