Mixed up borrowing

Hi. I'm new at Rust and follow the docs to learn about it. Recently I read about ownership and borrowing and when I tried to implement a simple logic I had some problems. I hope someone helps me to understand what's going on. This is my code:

struct User<'a> {
    username: String,
    following: Vec<&'a User<'a>>,
    follower: Vec<&'a User<'a>>,
} 
impl<'a> User<'a> {
    fn send_post(&self, post: &str){
        for user in &self.follower{
            // do somtihng
        }
    }
    fn follow(&'a mut self, user: &'a User<'a>) {
        self.following.push(user);
    }
}
fn main() {
    let mut user1 = User{username: "user1".to_string(), follower: vec![], following: vec![]};    
    let mut user2 = User{username: "user2".to_string(), follower: vec![], following: vec![]};
    user1.follow(&user2);
    // user2.follow(&user1);
}

I want to add each user to following and follower list without using copy or clone. Is it possible? the main problem that I had was using mutable reference twice or using immutable and mutable reference at a time. How can I implement this logic?

I'm a bit short on time, so can't put together a good explanation. Working with circular references like you have is tricky. It won't work at all with &mut, which requires there to be no other references to the same object.

You can do this with some interior mutability, though:

use std::cell::RefCell;

struct User<'a> {
    username: String,
    following: RefCell<Vec<&'a User<'a>>>,
    follower: RefCell<Vec<&'a User<'a>>>,
}
impl<'a> User<'a> {
    fn new(username: String) -> Self {
        User {
            username,
            following: RefCell::new(vec![]),
            follower: RefCell::new(vec![]),
        }
    }
    fn send_post(&self, post: &str) {
        for user in self.follower.borrow().iter() {
            // do somtihng
        }
    }
    fn follow(&'a self, user: &'a User<'a>) {
        self.following.borrow_mut().push(user);