Minimal Futures examples demonstrating confusing compiler errors

Background: I am a relatively new Rust programmer (started less than half a year ago) who just recently began working on a project where I had to learn the Futures framework.

While learning the Futures framework, I’ve been struggling a lot with confusing compiler error messages. And when I run into one of these error messages, Googling it along with the keywords “rust futures” doesn’t yield similar examples or solutions.

Where I have found success has been taking working examples, making changes which I know will break it, and seeing the resulting compiler error. Furthermore, converting these examples into their equivalent Result version demonstrates just how confusing the Future error messages are.

A simple Future example

Consider the following method, which doesn’t compile:

fn future_sign(v: i32) -> Box<Future<Item=i32, Error=i32> >{
    let f = ok(v)
           // this 'map' should be 'and_then'
           .map(|v| {
                // OR the returns should be raw i32, instead of ok(i32)
               if v > 0 {
                  ok(1)
               } 
               else {
                  ok(-1)
               } 
            });
    // The error message will point to the line below:
    Box::new(f)
}

map will return a Future type, but because we are returning futures instead of the underlying items in the closure, the type of f is actually Future<Item = Future<i32, _>, Error = _>. This can’t be coerced into the required return type, and so we would expect an error:

error[E0271]: type mismatch resolving `<[closure@src/main.rs:8:17: 16:14] as std::ops::FnOnce<(i32,)>>::Output == i32`
  --> src/main.rs:18:5
   |
18 |     Box::new(f)
   |     ^^^^^^^^^^^ expected struct `futures::FutureResult`, found i32
   |
   = note: expected type `futures::FutureResult<{integer}, _>`
              found type `i32`