Mess in lifetime annotations

I was a C++ coder hence Rust's lifetime annotations are new to me.
As code shown below, Transporter instance would contain a set of Connection instances.
The lifetime of Connection instance must not outlive Transporter instance's lifetime.

I tried several approaches in annotations but always get compliation errors.
Please can someone fix the annotations and explain what the mistake is

Appreciate your help :slight_smile:

use std::sync::atomic::{ Ordering, AtomicUsize};
use bytes::Bytes;
use std::sync::Mutex;
use std::collections::VecDeque;
use std::cell::Cell;
use std::collections::HashMap;
use futures::stream::FuturesUnordered;
use futures::channel::oneshot::Receiver;

// Represents a connection
#[allow(dead_code)]
pub struct Connection<'a> {
    id : u32,
    initiator_id: u32,
    total_bytes : AtomicUsize,
    queue : Mutex<VecDeque<Bytes>>,
    transporter : &'a Transporter<'a>,  // an instance of Transporter can’t outlive the reference Connection holds in its transporter field.
}

impl Connection<'_> {
    fn new<'a>(id: u32, transporter : &Transporter) -> Connection<'a> {
        Connection{
            id : id,
            initiator_id : 1,
            total_bytes : AtomicUsize::new(0),
            queue : Mutex::new(VecDeque::new()),
            transporter : transporter,
        }
    }

pub fn send(&self, buf:&[u8]) -> usize{
        let mut queue = self.queue.lock().unwrap();
        queue.push_back(Bytes::from(buf));
        self.total_bytes.fetch_add(buf.len(), Ordering::Relaxed) + buf.len()
    }
}

#[allow(dead_code)]
pub struct Transporter<'a> {
    id_generator : AtomicUsize,
    receivers : Mutex<Cell<FuturesUnordered<Receiver<()>>>>,
    connections : Mutex<HashMap<u32, Box<Connection<'a>>>>, // Connection cannot outlive Transporter's lifetime
}

impl Transporter<'_> {
    pub fn new() ->  Transporter {
        Transporter{
            id_generator : AtomicUsize::new(1),