Memory allocation

Hello,

I'm a structural engineer trying to learn Rust. I've purchased (3) different books, but this one concept is still unclear.
I have seen the expression

let s1 = String::from("hello");

graphically represented as follows:

when describing ownership. However, where in this graphic are the actual variable and data type registered? Are there additional pieces of information associated with this assignment that are not represented in the graphic?

Thanks in advance.

Where is s2 defined? I don't see why it is auto sharing the 'hello' repr with s1.

Ownership is an abstract concept, not something stored in memory. When a value is owned, it means the compiler will generate code that destroys it when it goes out of scope. If a value is borrowed, compiler will let it go out of scope without doing anything about it.

In Rust Box<Foo> and &Foo are 100% identical in memory. Exact same size, layout, bytes.

4 Likes

Although this graphic is describing ownership, my question more directed at trying to understand, with a graphical representation, what are all of the pieces of information that are tied to the expression, and where are they stored.

1. the variable "s1" (where is it's info?)
  2. the data type (where is it's info?)
  3. the pointer (on the stack)
  4. the length (on the stack)
  5. the capacity (on the stack)
  6. the data itself (on the heap)

Items 1 and 2 above are not represented in the table shown in the graphic.

1 and 2 have a concrete existence only during compilation: They affect the code that the compiler generates, but do not appear explicitly in the final binary.

5 Likes

ok, that makes sense. thx.

I believe your questions have been answered, but here are entirely too many words motivated by what I perceived [1] prompted the questions.

It's showing the state of memory (conceptually anyway [2]) for

{
   let s1 = "hello".to_string();
   let s2 = s1;
   /* Diagram shows the state here, after assignment but before drops */
}