Memoize a function returning a borrow with the same lifetime as `self`

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Rust, so please bear with me if this thread is too basic. Consider a trait like this:

trait Mapper
{
    fn map<'a, 'b>(&'a self, key: &'b str) -> &'a str;
}

I won't bother you with the details of my concrete use case, but the basic idea is that this returns the address of a given service, identified by key in this example. Our first implementation just stored a HashMap prefilled with the address of all existing services, but that quickly became a burden to maintain. This implementation made it easy, since we can return a borrow for the address and rest assured that it will survive for as long as the Mapper itself.

The thing is that the the address of every service can be systematically built (either reading an environment variable, or constructed from the service name using some convention). So instead of pre-fill a HashMap, we want to switch to an "on-demand"/memoized version. We'd like to keep the signature for compatibility. The projects makes heavy use of async code, so we need some sort of synchronization mechanism (we choose RwLock for concurrent reads).

In this context, a naive implementation fails since you borrow the data from a lock object which gets dropped, so you get the "cannot return value referencing local variable" error.

I found two possible solutions:

(1) leak the address to make it 'static. The leak is mostly not a problem since the object instance usually lives for the whole program execution, but might become a problem if somebody creates short live Mapper objects.

struct MemoizedMapperLeak
{
    list: Arc<RwLock<HashMap<String, &'static str>>>,
}

impl Mapper for MemoizedMapperLeak
{
    fn map<'a, 'b>(&'a self, key: &'b str) -> &'a str {
        // Check if exists
        {
            let read = self.list.read().unwrap();

if let Some(value) = read.get(key)
            {
                return value;
            }

// Drop read lock