Map Function and Lifetime with Vector vs. Slice

I'm a newbie with Rust so apologies if this seems obvious. Consider the following code:

// borrow values
#[derive(Clone, Debug)]
struct Attribute<'a> {
  name: &'a str,
  value: &'a str,
}

#[derive(Clone, Debug)]
struct OwnedAttribute {
  name: String,
  value: String,
}

impl OwnedAttribute {
  pub fn borrow(&self) -> Attribute {
    Attribute {
      name: &*self.name,
      value: &*self.value,
    }
  }
}

fn main() {
  let v1 = OwnedAttribute { 
    name: "foo".to_string(),
    value: "bar".to_string(),
  };
  let a: Vec<OwnedAttribute> = vec![v1];
  // This is OK
  let b: Vec<Attribute> = a.as_slice().into_iter().map(|v| v.borrow()).collect();
 // error: `v` does not live long enough
 // let b: Vec<Attribute> = a.into_iter().map(|v| v.borrow()).collect();
  println!("{:?}", b);
}

As you can see, if I use as_slice() on the vector, everything is OK. If I use the vector directly via into_iter(), I get an error that the value in my map does not live long enough.

I'm still trying to understand Rust lifetimes. But is it simply the case that in the Vec::into_iter() function, a new object is created for each iteration hence when it is passed into the map function it only has the lifetime of that single iteration? In the the as_slice() case the iterable object is the actual object from the slice and therefore has a longer lifetime?

into_iter() on the Vec destroys the vector as it iterates, so vector's elements really don't live past each iteration of the loop.

into_iter() on a slice just destroys the temporary slice (a view into the vector), so elements that were in the original vector remain where they were.

as_slice().into_iter() can be simplified down to .iter().

So what is the object being pass into the map function? Is it the vector's elements, but since Vec::into_iter() destroys the vector, the compiler knows the lifetime is limited to the loop?