Major mostly flawless milestone

For the past few weeks we've been working on an application related to a high assurance security device (think EAL7, for those of you who speak CC). I decided to use Rust for this project as a trial run. I have some Rust experience, but mostly hobbyist work.

The other person working on this has very little Rust experience (he has copied-and-pasted code to make a Rocket server, and put together a simple TCP-based echo server), but that's more or less his experience with Rust.

I'm more of a command-line person, I use vim [on mac and linux] without any bells'n'whistles apart from syntax highligting. The other developer like GUI's; he used Visual Studio Code with some plugin that makes it autocomplete and compile as he types.

Today we finally got to the point where we could do the first real test run of the application.

We set everything up, ran it, and it error'd out. A state wasn't reset in a state machine. This caused two problems, both trivial to fix; we did a quick fix for the one it hit and ran again. It got further but then hit the other problem, so we fixed that.

After that, it worked. No, I actually mean that it really worked. We looked at each other and said "wait, what happened?".

That feeling of things Just Working(tm) is such a bizarre and unfamiliar feeling. I've experienced it before with Rust, but never on this scale. I was 100% committed to spending the rest of the weekend debugging protocol parsers, protocol generators, fixing off-by-one errors, fixing a directory scanner, fixing a diff generator, etc. All the usual stuff.

That "If it compiles it works" is legitimately no joke. I mean, it's obviously not universally true, but I have worked with projects of this scope in other languages, and I have never had anything work even close to this well in the first run before.