Looking for architecture advice: Iterating over futures and execute them in serial

My question is mostly about design, architecture and best practices.
My code actually compiles and does what I want but what was meant as an easy way for my users to plug in to existing functionality turns out to be not so easy to use anymore.

I've tried to reproduce a smaller example below but my code is fully open-source on Github.

My background is Java (only a few months on Rust) so what I've tried to replicate is the Abstract class pattern from Java. I'd usually create an abstract "base" class with common functionality and subclasses can extend this base class and just implement the abstract methods with their business logic.

This does not work in Rust so I've tried the Strategy pattern instead.

1. I have a Controller (struct) that processes events and it takes a Strategy (trait)
  2. My Controller calls a method (init_event) on the Strategy for each event that comes in, this method returns a struct implementing the PerEvent trait
  3. The Controller calls the method operations on the PerEvent object which returns a Vec of Futures.
  4. The Controller now iterates over these Futures and awaits each, the result of one of these Futures determines whether the next Futures should be run at all or not

My goals for this design are:

• A bunch of independent functions which all have access to the same shared state per event (the PerEvent object), parts of which might be mutable, so these functions can build on each others work
  • These functions are run in order and they can influence whether the next ones are run or not
  • No need to pass around the state manually and return it every time

My problems are:

• I need to treat all state etc. as if it were run in parallel (Arc / Mutex) while in reality they are always run serially (I understand that the compiler can't know this)
  • "Unpacking" an Arc<Mutex<>> isn't easy (unless I'm doing it wrong), it's certainly overhead