Looking for advice on writing a compiler

Hello, Rustaceans! I’m having two major problems.

1. I only have half an idea what I am doing.
  2. I’ve picked a massive project to work on.

I’m fairly new to Rust. I’ve read the official book, and written enough to feel comfortable with the language. Past that, I do have several years of programming experience. However, that's through school, so nothing professional, large scale, or necessarily well structured.

With that level of experience, naturally my instinct was to jump in the deep end.

My goal is to write a SugarCube compiler and language server. Just saying that implies a certain level of complexity, but SugarCube is a matryoshka language. It’s for writing interactive fiction that can be published on the web, and it does so by building on top of rather than replacing. That means normal HTML, JavaScript, and CSS as well as an additional markdown syntax and story macros.

The following is completely valid code:

<<set $foo to 10>>
<<set $bar = 15>>
<script>
    console.log("Passage loaded!");
</script>

<div>
    <<if $foo > $bar>>
        <div class="was-true">
            $foo ''>'' $bar
        </div>
    <<else>>
        <div class="was-false">
            $foo ''<'' $bar
        </div>
    <</if>>
</div>

Ignoring a smattering of <br>, after being interpreted it roughly outputs:

<script>
    console.log("Passage loaded!");
</script>

<div>
    <div class="was-false">
        10 <strong>&lt;</strong> 15
    </div>
</div>

As far as I can tell, all of this means that I have no off the shelf solution I can use.

Due to the overall complexity and a want for quality error handling, I’m cautious about using a parser generator or lexer generator like nom or logos. At the same time it might not be as simple as stringing together libraries to handle the individual parts.