Look for direction in dealing memory accumulation

I am using 100% safe rust code; no any reference counters; only a mutex to guard a redis-connection; have many unbounded channels among several heavy loaded async tasks. Maybe some vectors storing a lot of cached data, but after all, the code base is quite gigantic for me to inspect the code line by line.

Now I experience some sort of "memory leak" problem. I guess it is not the exact way people describe it (the reference loop? and unsafe rust), I just cannot tell where the memory has (probably) accumulated at in my code.

Any tools / method for checking which variables have cost me growing memory?

I'm new to valgrind today and i find quite a number of records are initiated from libcrypto.so.1.1. Does anyone has some clue with it? :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile:

Maybe you have an unbounded channel whose receiver can't keep up, thus the buffer keeps using more and more memory?

1 Like

i once suspected that too but i find memory leak still happens even with very very low loading

valgrind has guided me here. It would be great if anyone here could lend a helping hand on inspecting this piece of code

let o = match some_hashmap.get(some_key) {
            Ok((a,b)) => {
                // TODO: possible mem leak
                let a = (&a[0..min(a.len(), MAX_DEPTH_LENGTH)]).to_vec();
                let b = (&b[0..min(b.len(), MAX_DEPTH_LENGTH)]).to_vec();
                SomethingUnwraped{ a,b }
            }
            Err(e) => ...,
        };

I want a copy of the two arrays in hashmap returned to o while keeping the hashmap untouched. is this a good way to write my logic? I have amended it with hint from clippy but valgrind brings me here again...