One = 1,
    Ten = 10,
    Twenty = 20,
}

fn myfn(n: MyNumber) {
    // Convert `n` to a number with `n as i32` for example
}
5 Likes

I'd go with @jofas suggestion, but below is probably the closest you could get to your snippet:

pub trait Acceptable {}
pub enum Number<const N: usize> {}

impl Acceptable for Number<1> {}
impl Acceptable for Number<10> {}
impl Acceptable for Number<20> {}

fn accept<const N: usize>() where Number<N>: Acceptable {
    println!("Accepted! {N}");
}

#[test]
fn test_accept() {
    accept::<1>();
    accept::<10>();
    accept::<20>();
    accept::<30>(); // won't compile
}
1 Like

There's an interest in "pattern types", but if it ever comes to be, it will be some time from now.

@cardoso made a great suggestion if you know your argument at compile time. If not, I'd use a guard clause.

fn myfn(arg: i32) {
    if !matches!(arg, 1 | 2 | 10) {
        return;
    }

todo!("rest of `myfn`")
}
1 Like

well that would be awesome. I'm new to Rust and there is some patterns I really dislike. Even if the provided solutions here work, they look verbose and totally unnecessary. I will simply document my function accordingly instead of doing those. The aim was to give users some IDE info on the specific argument before compilation. We can see some beauty from other languages which comes together in Rust, but at the same time there are bits that look awful. I hope this improves in the future.

Out of curiosity, what other languages have you programmed in that solve this problem in a more elegant way? I can only think of C++ template shenanigangs (not very nice IMO) or dependently typed languages like Idris (that nobody use).

I just got the idea from Typescript in this case:

function myfn(arg:1|2|3){}
type X = "1"|"2"|"3"
1 Like

Nice, I forgot that you could do that. Thanks for the reminder!

I definitely agree with you on providing documentation. Do you have an example from another language that might satisfy you?