Linking with 'link.exe' failed: exit code: 1171

Hello all,

I have just started using rust (windows 8.1). I downloaded and installed the Build Tools for Visual Studio 2019 and during installation I selected the C++ tools.

I tried this code

fn main()
{
println!("Hello, world!");
}

After using command rustc main.rs

Got the following error:

error: linking with 'link.exe' failed exit code: 1171

Note: fatal error LNK1171: unable to load mspdbcore.dll <error code 126>

What am I doing wrong?

probably it uses wrong linker (32 bit when building 64bit target and vice versa)

No idea how you setup your enviornment, but you must make sure that you load correct environment when it comes to MSVC.
MS cannot make proper build tools sadly so you need to make sure that C++ tools match Rust's target

If you use console like me(powershell) here is simple script to load environment via vswhere

1 Like

Thanks DoumanAsh for replying. Yes, you have a point. Great!

I am new to this all this Powershell setup as well, so I have to run these command on Windows Powershell? Can you please guide me a little how to actually run this all? Sorry for bothering you again.

@hina_z If you're not familiar with powershell then other option would be to use Developer Command Prompt VS which will be available when you install Visual Studio
You need to find vswhere.exe and add it's directory to environment variable PATH
In my case it is located in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Installer\

For 64bit target arch should be amd64

But if you're not very well familiar with powershell, it would be also worth to consider how did you run compilation initially?
Did you use cmd?
Did you use IDE?

1 Like

@DoumanAsh Thanks!! Yes, I use cmd for all compilation and installing Rust. and Yes you are right vswhere.exe file is located in the folder you have mentioned.