Linking with `cc`

Hey!
I am new to Rust and wanted to contribute to a project. When I tried building the cloned project, I received the following error which goes beyond my understanding of Rust:

error: linking with `cc` failed: exit status: 1
  |
  = note: "cc" "-arch" "x86_64" "-m64"
 = note: ld: malformed universal file: slice content is not mach-o or a static library file '/usr/local/lib/libosxfuse.dylib'
          clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)

The way I understand is that the project is using some resources from C/C++ and hence needs to link through the given file (please correct me if I am wrong!)
I was able to locate the file on my computer but I am not entirely sure what is supposed to be in there or exactly what I should be looking at.

Any help and pointers are much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

It says that it was trying to link that library but the file at that place isn't really a library. Can you run the file command on that file to obtain its precise type?

1 Like

Hey, thanks for the quick reply!

Yes, this is what I got:

libosxfuse.dylib: Mach-O universal binary with 4 architectures: [ppc_7400:Mach-O dynamically linked shared library ppc_7400
- Mach-O dynamically linked shared library ppc_7400] [ppc64:Mach-O dynamically linked shared library ppc64
- Mach-O dynamically linked shared library ppc64] [i386:Mach-O dynamically linked shared library i386
- Mach-O dynamically linked shared library i386] [x86_64:Mach-O 64-bit dynamically linked shared library x86_64
- Mach-O 64-bit dynamically linked shared library x86_64]
libosxfuse.dylib (for architecture ppc7400):	Mach-O dynamically linked shared library ppc_7400
libosxfuse.dylib (for architecture ppc64):	Mach-O dynamically linked shared library ppc64
libosxfuse.dylib (for architecture i386):	Mach-O dynamically linked shared library i386
libosxfuse.dylib (for architecture x86_64):	Mach-O 64-bit dynamically linked shared library x86_64