Lifetimes are killing me

I'm new to rust .. I come from Typescript / Java / Python / PHP with a very little C++.
But so far I'm loving it except for lifetimes. I hope someone can help.

I tried to simplify the problem I'm having.

trait MyTrait1 {}

trait MyTrait2 {}

struct FirstStruct<'a> {
    something: &'a Box<dyn MyTrait1>,
}

impl<'a> MyTrait2 for FirstStruct<'a> {}

struct SecondStruct<'a> {
    something: &'a Box<dyn MyTrait1>,
}

impl<'a> SecondStruct<'a> {
    fn return_new_trait2(&self) -> Box<dyn MyTrait2> {
        Box::new(FirstStruct {
            something: self.something,
        }) as Box<dyn MyTrait2>
    }
}

Results in this error

16 |   impl<'a> SecondStruct<'a> {
   |        -- lifetime `'a` defined here
17 |       fn return_new_trait2(&self) -> Box<dyn MyTrait2> {
18 | /         Box::new(FirstStruct {
19 | |             something: self.something,
20 | |         }) as Box<dyn MyTrait2>
   | |_______________________________^ returning this value requires that `'a` must outlive `'static`

I'm wanting to create a new FirstStruct with the pointer I already have and return it.
I'm not sure what is `'static' in this, everything seems to be a Box pointer.

Any help would be great!
Thanks in advance!

Hello @MikeColeGuru!

You are making a classic newcomer mistake, which is perfectly fine.

The first advice I will give you is to not use & references inside structs. Once you understand lifetimes more closely, you will understand that it's rarely needed.

In TypeScript and other garbage collected languages "everything" is wrapped in an Rc or Arc for you, which is a reference counted Box. That means that cloning the Rc pointer just increments a number inside the Rc.

This is what I would do in your case:

use std::rc::Rc;

trait MyTrait1 {}

trait MyTrait2 {}

struct FirstStruct {
    something: Rc<dyn MyTrait1>,
}

impl MyTrait2 for FirstStruct {}

struct SecondStruct {
    something: Rc<dyn MyTrait1>,
}

impl SecondStruct {