Lifetimes: Adding a parameter inside a 3rd party closure

I'm new to Rust lifetimes and closures in practice (I've read but the necessary lesson/insight has clearly escaped me), but I do understand they are 'descriptive' not 'prescriptive' annotations. So errors are on me.

That said I have the following function:

fn get_pages() -> impl Stream<Item = Vec<usize>> {
    stream::iter(0..).then(move |i| get_page(i))
}

Which I am trying to extend to handle gracefully shutting down. I've resolved lifetime issues to the point I am stuck here:

fn get_pages<'a>(signal: &'a mut Signal<'a>) -> impl Stream<Item = Vec<usize>> + 'a {
    stream::iter(0..).then(move |i| get_page(i, signal))
}

Which generates this amazing (good) error message:

error[E0495]: cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for lifetime parameter 'a in function call due to conflicting requirements
   --> regatta/examples/05-pages-stream-4-ok-sig-2-c.rs:218:37
    |
218 |     stream::iter(0..).then(move |i| get_page(i, signal))
    |                                     ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    |
note: first, the lifetime cannot outlive the lifetime `'_` as defined on the body at 218:28...
   --> regatta/examples/05-pages-stream-4-ok-sig-2-c.rs:218:28
    |
    |                            ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
note: ...so that closure can access `signal`
   --> regatta/examples/05-pages-stream-4-ok-sig-2-c.rs:218:49
    |
    |                                                 ^^^^^^
note: but, the lifetime must be valid for the lifetime `'a` as defined on the function body at 217:14...
   --> regatta/examples/05-pages-stream-4-ok-sig-2-c.rs:217:14
    |
217 | fn get_pages<'a>(signal: &'a mut Signal<'a>) -> impl Stream<Item = Vec<usize>> + 'a {
    |              ^^
note: ...so that the expression is assignable
   --> regatta/examples/05-pages-stream-4-ok-sig-2-c.rs:218:49
    |
    |                                                 ^^^^^^
    = note: expected `&mut Signal<'_>`