Lifetime params for more complex function returns

Apologies, newbie here (thanks, edited formatting)

I'm querying some Mysql, which is working when I have a value with

use mysql::*;
    use mysql::prelude::*;
    let mut row = result_set.as_ref().unwrap();
    let tag_string: <String> = row.get(4).unwrap();
Cargo.toml has mysql = "18.2.0"  

, but I'm getting a panic when I try to cater for a Null sql value, so trying to use get_opt() instead.

Looking at the rust mysql docs here it seems to shows

pub fn get_opt<T, I>(&self, index: I) -> Option<Result<T, FromValueError>>

However, if I use

let tag_string: Option<Result<String>> = row.get_opt(4);

I get

expected enum `mysql::error::Error`, found struct `mysql_common::value::convert::FromValueError

If I try

let tag_string: Option<Result<String, FromValueError >> = row.get_opt(4);

I get

FromValueError:  unexpected type argument

and

expected enum `mysql::error::Error`, found struct `mysql_common::value::convert::FromValueError

I've also tried giving it one mysql::error::Error or FromValueError only argument, but again I get

So I'm a bit confused about the error types and how to declare that type when it's only looking for one parameter ?

You can read more about formatting here, and note that you can edit the post.

Thanks, have edited.

Can I ask you to use code blocks for the rest of the post as well instead of just marking the line as code with a single backtick?

As for your question, the purpose of get_opt is not to handle null values, but to handle values that have been taken using Row::take. To handle a null value, use get with T = Option<Something>.

let tag_string: Option<String> = row.get(4).unwrap();

Aha thanks, that did it.

You may also consider using take instead of get, as it avoids some unnecessary copying.

1 Like

Thanks, I had previously tried that, but had got an error...

`row` is a `&` reference, so the data it refers to cannot be borrowed as mutable