Library to create firewall rules

Hello! I'm new to rust and I'm tasked with creating a file that does the following

• creates firewall rules.

I've gotten the following code working to do this.

make_firewall_tcp(r#"name="anewrule""#, "dir=in", "action=allow", "protocol=TCP", "localport=19800-19820");

fn make_firewall_tcp(name:&str, dir:&str, action:&str, protocol:&str, localport:&str){
let _child = Command::new("netsh")
 .arg("advfirewall")
 .arg("firewall")
 .arg("add")
 .arg("rule")
 .arg(name)
 .arg(dir)
 .arg(action)
 .arg(protocol)
 .arg(localport)
       .spawn().expect("failed");
    thread::sleep(time::Duration::new(2, 0)); // Windows needs time!   
   println!("done");
   let _output = _child.stdout;
println!("{:?}", _output);

}

I was just wondering if anyone could point out any good rust libraries that does this, maybe more elegantly?

Also any other rust library pointers would be awesome!
I also need to do the following with rust:
-check the os version.

• install programs in certain places
  • check .net version

Hi @heplyler!

Some pointers:

• Instead of executing commands, you may want to use COM (that's the only API I found that works with Windows Firewall), There is a cargo that wraps COM called com-rs - I don't know if it works, it might be worth checking.
  • If you'd like to stick to executing commands, I would check the status instead of panicing + avoid sleeping:
let child = Command::new("netsh")
    .arg("advfirewall")
    // some more arguments...
    .spawn()
    .status();

match child {
    Ok(exit_code) => {
        // check return code, report command failure if non-zero...
        println!("netsh returned {}", exit_code.code());
    },
    Err(err) => {
        // handle the error.
        eprintln!("failed to execute: {}", err);
    },
}
  • You may want to use kernel32-sys for other WinAPI related tasks, such as checking OS version
  • The winreg crate would be helpful to check installed programs & .NET versions.