Len must be known at compile time & 'let'

HI All,
I'm new to rust and enjoying it so far, just trying to get a handle on some things like this...

This method compiles and works fine:

fn make_ay(word: &str) -> String {
    let s = format!("{}-{}ay ",&word[1..word.len()], &word[0..1]);
    s
}

but, if I remove the 'let' and try to return the formatted string, whatever I try complains that the length isn't known at compile time. Adding the 'let' fixes it.
Does this have something to do with the stack vs heap? Does the method without the 'let' try to use the stack and therefore needs to know the length? Or, have I completely misunderstood?
Either way, I'm trying to understand why 'let' is the only way i can make this work rather than just accepting that it does :slight_smile:

I’m having a hard time reproducing your problem, as for example this compiles just fine:

fn make_ay(word: &str) -> String {
    format!("{}-{}ay ", &word[1..word.len()], &word[0..1])
}

Upon further trying around, I’m getting errors akin to the one you described if the & for the word slices are removed, e.g. format!("{}-{}ay ", word[1..word.len()], word[0..1]). That problem however occurs independent of whether let is used or not.

2 Likes

Thank you, if I try the function as you have it, I get the message "expected struct 'String', found ()"

If I change the return type to 'str' then I get the message, "doesn't have a size known at compile-time".

I've tried to retrace my steps to get the exact same code and error, however, I'm just finding that I had several problems and I've learned a lot today by trying to find a solution. So maybe my problem isn't related to 'let', but to various factors.
Maybe because this function cannot know the exact string length at compile time, I have to use 'string' and not 'str' anyway?

Don't put a semicolon after the format! call.

1 Like

You mean this error message?

error[E0308]: mismatched types
 --> src/lib.rs:1:27
  |