Lapin (+ Tokio): using an existing RabbitMQ channel/connection in the message handler

Hello Rustaceans

I'm a junior software developer learning Rust and I'm currently making a RabbitMQ server with Lapin and Tokio. My code is based on the example code provided by Lapin which can be found here.

I've already managed to connect to and receive messages from the message broker, but I have a problem. Messages that are published on a certain queue expect an RPC call back. For this to work, I need a channel to the message broker so the response can be published on the right queue. It would make sense to use the already existing channel or make a new channel based on the current connection, but this is where I hit a roadblock.

The message handler for a queue in Lapin expects a closure with a static lifetime (line 39-58). This means that the closure can't use variables outside it's scope which aren't statics. As a result of that, I can't use the existing channel or connection with the message broker.

As a temporary workaround, I'm creating a new connection and channel for every RPC call but this is not the way it's supposed to be. Luckily, the temporary workaround is sufficient enough since this is a personal project and will only be used on a very small scale. How can I solve this situation the right way?

I think you may be misunderstanding what a 'static bound means. A 'static closure can still capture values from its environment, they just can't borrow from their (non-'static) environment.

I'm not particularly familiar with RabbitMQ so I kind of had to guess at what specifically you weren't able to do in your code. Modifying the example code to capture channel in the set_delegate closure sounds like approximately what you're trying to do though, so here's that

consumer.set_delegate({
    // Clone the channel so we can move the new instance into the
    // closure and the rest of the code can still use the
    // outer channel variable.