Keep list of TcpStreams

I need to be able to store a list of TcpStreams that are accepted. I using a module level static variable, which I would prefer not to do. I don't know any other way though. The code does not compile as is shown here, the STREAMS.push is unsafe and generates an error.

use std::net::TcpListener;
use std::net::TcpStream;

static mut STREAMS: Vec<&TcpStream> = Vec::new();

fn main() -> std::io::Result<()> {
    let listener = TcpListener::bind("127.0.0.1:6543")?;

loop {
        let (mut stream, _) = listener.accept()?;
        STREAMS.push(&stream);
        // Do other stuff with stream
    }

Ok(())
}

fn another_fn() {
    // needs access to list of streams
}

Any suggestions on approaches for this. Are there standard Rust patterns? I'm new to Rust but very experienced in C... trying to learn the new patterns.

First of all, NEVER use static mut ever. It's near impossible to use correctly, hence taking &mut from it requires unsafe {} block.

You can't easily mutate the global variable, because the Rust programming language is made for multithreaded environment. Modifying global variable from multiple threads without proper synchronization is UB and you can't trigger UB using only safe Rust.

So how can I mutate shared data with concurrent access? Mutex. You can wrap your globals with std::sync::Mutex which never lets you take the inner's reference without holding the mutex guard. Currently it requires some initialization code and the Rust doesn't support to run code before main() by default, you should use another crate which supports lazy initialization like lazy_static or once_cell. Final code would be like below:

use std::sync::Mutex;
use std::net::{TcpListener, TcpStream};

use lazy_static::lazy_static;

lazy_static! {
    static ref STREAMS: Mutex<Vec<TcpStream>> = Mutex::new(Vec::new());
}

fn main() -> std::io::Result<()> {
    let listener = TcpListener::bind("...")?;

for stream in listener.incoming() {