Just started learning Rust. How do I modify a vector from multiple threads?

Hello,

Complete Rust newbie here. Just started today.

I really like the idea that there can only be one mutable reference. But it’s not clear to me how to implement, for example, a simple TCP server, counting words coming in from hundreds of concurrent connections.

Let’s say I have a Vec<String> with the list of words. Each TCP request should add a new word to that list. How can I do that?

Thanks a lot.

The simplest is to wrap the Vec<String> as Arc<Mutex<Vec<String>>>, and then share clones of that Arc across the threads. This is a simple playground example of this approach. If you want to stick to the familiar lock/mutex approach, take a look also at the parking_lot crate as it offers more efficient implementations of the various synchronization primitives than the std library.

Since you’re new, I hesitate to overwhelm you with additional information. But, you could also implement a single-threaded TCP server that does something similar using tokio - then you could replace this with Rc<RefCell<Vec<String>>, which is an analogous construct for single-threaded scenarios.

Finally, you can think about different designs in Rust than using locks/mutexes for shared memory. A popular alternative is using channels, and sharing messages across them - there’s a single owner of some state, and the various actors get access to that state via messages.

5 Likes

Thanks a lot for the detailed response and the playground example, Vitaly.

One last question. If I forget to use locks and allow data races, will Rust compiler detect this and complain? I tried to do that in your example, but my current Rust knowledge is not enough.