Javascript like callbacks on streams

Is there any way in rust to achieve javascript like callbacks on a stream? I am quite new to rust and am working on a simple console based IRC client. I need to be able to monitor for both messages and keypresses and respond to both. Currently, I am using the second thread to get the messages and then pass them into the main thread through a stream. I need to have a continuous loop to get a keypress and respond to it, but I also need to be able to add new messages at the same time. It would seem like using the and_then method on the stream would add a javascript like callback and work for this purpose, but I cannot seem to figure out how to configure it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The code I am working on looks like this:

extern crate irc;
extern crate pancurses;
extern crate futures;

use futures::prelude::*;
use futures::sync::mpsc;

use std::default::Default;
use std::thread;
use irc::client::prelude::*;
use pancurses::{initscr, endwin};

fn main() {
    /* Stream between chat message thread and ui thread */
    let (tx, rx) = mpsc::channel::<irc::proto::Message>(20);
    let window = initscr();

thread::spawn(move || {
        let cfg = Config {
            nickname: Some(format!("name")),
            server: Some(format!("irc")),
            channels: Some(vec![format!("#channel")]),
            .. Default::default()
        };
        let client = IrcClient::from_config(cfg).unwrap();
        client.identify().unwrap();
        client.for_each_incoming(|message| {
            tx.try_send(message);
        }).unwrap()
    });

let rx = rx.and_then(|message| { /* Not quite sure if this is what I want or how to configure it */
        window.printw(&format!("{}", message)[..]);
    });

loop {
        window.getch();
    }
}

You probably want rx.for_each(...) to handle each message on the receiver.