Iterating over every vector of N non-negative integers which adds up to X

Hello!
I'm fairly new to rust and I'm practicing it by solving Advent of Code 2015. So far I've arrived at day 15, an optimization problem where the problem space is a set of N parameters (the ingredients) that have to add up to a constant (100, in this case). As a first step I have to write a function that takes those two parameters and results in a iterator of Vecs, each of length N

For example, if N is 2 the combinations are [100,0], [99,1], ..., [0,100]. The problem scales rapidly with N, as each new parameter adds a dimension to the space.

I can't find a concise way to phrase this in a search engine, so I might have missed an already existing answer, but before i try to implement the solution completely manually, does the rust standard library or an external crate contain something that might help accomplish this task?

Thank you for the attention

After looking at the problem description, I’ve noticed that your title inaccurately described the problem statement. To avoid similar confusion for future readers, I’ve adapted it for you.

In particular: The ordering matters here, in particular considering [0, 100] separately from [100, 0] is important, so it’s not about finding all “sets” but all “lists” or “tuples” or “vectors”, whichever term you prefer. As your post contents mentions “Vecs”, I’ve gone with “vectors” for the title.

Second, “positive integer” usually refers to integers strictly greater than 0, i.e. not including zero, whereas as far as I understand in this AoC problem, amount zero is allowed for an ingredient.

2 Likes