Is thre a better way to get substring from String with Range?

Hello,

First I'm new to rust let me explain my issue :

I really would like an interface like that on String:

impl String { fn sub(&self, range: Range<usize>) -> String }

I'm not using .get(0..2) because I want unicode scalars

use std::ops::Range;

#[derive(Debug)]
struct BetterString(String);

impl BetterString {
    fn sub(&self, range: Range<usize>) -> String {
        self.0.chars().skip(range.start).take(range.end - range.start).collect()
    }
}
fn main() {
    let s = BetterString { 0: String::from("éèéè") };

dbg!(&s);
    dbg!(s.sub(0..1));
}

This code compile and gives :

Running `target/debug/general`
[src/main.rs:14] &s = BetterString(
    "éèéè",
)
[src/main.rs:15] s.sub(0..1) = "é"

Thanks for your help or suggestions.

If you want to have that method directly on String, you can use the extension trait pattern put it in a trait which you implement for String:

trait Substring {
    fn sub(&self, range: Range<usize>) -> String;
}

impl Substring for String {
    fn sub(&self, range: Range<usize>) -> String {
        self.chars().skip(range.start).take(range.end - range.start).collect()
    }
}

fn main() {
    let s = String::from("éèéè");

dbg!(&s);
    dbg!(s.sub(0..1));
}
2 Likes

Just a nit, but in Rust-speak this is not an extension trait but simply a trait that is implemented for a foreign type. Extension traits are something like futures::future::FutureExt that extends the Future trait and has a blanket implementation for everything that implements Future.

2 Likes

Thanks for the correction, I have edited my post.

1 Like

Thanks you for you suggestion, but do you know if there is a native way to do the same thing ?

What is a native way? You can't just create an impl block on a foreign type, they are only allowed within the same crate the item is defined:

An implementing type must be defined within the same crate as the original type definition.