Is this the most efficient way to perform a highly-iterative bitwise de/encoding task?

I’m by no means a veteran programmer. Let’s say, for practice, that I’m making a library to more efficiently store a genome by cramming four 2-bit nucleotides into a byte. I have a rudimentary library file:

// dna/src/lib.rs
use std::mem;

#[derive(Copy, Clone, Debug, PartialEq)]
#[repr(u8)]
pub enum Nucleotide {
	Adenine = 0b00,
	Cytosine = 0b01,
	Guanine = 0b10,
	Thymine = 0b11,
}

pub fn encode(ns: &[Nucleotide]) -> u8 {
	ns.iter().fold(0u8, |byte, &n| byte << 2 | n as u8) //bitwise functional wizardry! nah, we just write the two bits to the
}                                                           //least significant end of the byte and then shift it left to make room for the next two

pub fn decode(byte: u8) -> Vec<Nucleotide> {
	(0u8..4).rev().map(|i| {
		unsafe {mem::transmute(byte >> i*2 & 0b11)} //and just do the reverse here.
	}).collect()                                        //i wish clike enums were less of a PITA to convert between...
}

pub fn from_byte(c: u8) -> Nucleotide {
	match c {
		b'A' => Nucleotide::Adenine,
		b'C' => Nucleotide::Cytosine,
		b'G' => Nucleotide::Guanine,
		b'T' => Nucleotide::Thymine,
		_ => panic!("char does not resolve to a Nucleotide"),
	}
}

pub fn from_nclt(n: Nucleotide) -> u8 {
	match n {
		Nucleotide::Adenine => b'A',
		Nucleotide::Cytosine => b'C',
		Nucleotide::Guanine => b'G',
		Nucleotide::Thymine => b'T',
	}
}

And an even more rudimentary main program that reads a file of ACGT’s and encodes it in my format:

// dna/src/main.rs
extern crate dna;

use std::io;
use std::io::{Read, Write};

fn main() {
    let stdin = io::BufReader::new(io::stdin()); //Q: does Read::bytes() already buffer for you?
    let mut stdout = io::stdout();
    let encoded: Vec<u8> = stdin.bytes()
        .map(|b| dna::from_byte(b.unwrap())) //convert the ASCII letters into my enum format