Is this parser idiomatic and efficient? (probably not)

Hi there, I am fairly new to Rust and I wrote a simple program that loads in memory a bunch of small gzipped json files in order to extracts some stats.

Out of sheer curiosity, I wrote a similar program in Go and noticed that the execution time on few GBs of data was similar. This was before I had declared the json structure in Rust. Ouch!

My questions is if the code is idiomatic and how I can improve it further for performance. For now, I do not want to tinker with parallel programming.

I was considering switching to zune-inflate and simd_json, in order to reduce the time for both decompression and parsing. What do you think?

Any feedback is very welcome. Thank you!

There isn't any universally right answer on "how to improve performance", except to always benchmark, profile and apply optimizations where needed (and also to always use --release). Since it sounds like just loading the files to memory takes about the same time as both that and parsing in Go, I'd assume the first part is the bottleneck here so either a. this task is IO bound and you are unlikely to see performance improvements on your hardware, or b. the you may be able to improve it slightly by switching to a different deflate implementation. Either way you would have to try and measure this yourself.

2 Likes

Thank you for the answer, I will try to profile the code.

I need some help to make some sense out of the results I am getting.
As I was mentioning, I wanted to check the performance improvement of using zune_inflate instead of flate2.
It turns out that the results with the new library are slower! Can you tell me why? The results were consistent after multiple runs.

// zune_inflate -> File decompression time: 159607ms
    let open_file_start = Instant::now();
    let file = fs::read(file_path).unwrap();
    let mut decoder = DeflateDecoder::new(&file);
    let decompressed_data = decoder.decode_gzip().unwrap();