Is there a Rust equivalent of an ML "signature"?

In ML-family languages, there is a concept of an "implementation" and its "interface". The interface is often called a "signature" (the implementation being called a "structure"), and the idea is that the structure is type-checked, producing a "type" that must match the signature.

This allows an implementor to write their signature and then as they change their implementation, know that they're not breaking that signature -- which is the contract with the consumers of the implementation. Of course, when it comes to optimizing compilation, the compiler peers past the signature, but for type-checking, it is never necessary.

I'm new to Rust, but from what I can tell, it doesn't have this concept. Am I mistaken?

1 Like

In Rust, the line [access-moifier] [extern modifier] [ABI-modifier] fn function-name<type parameter>(arguments) -> return-type is the signature, and hence the interface.
The implementation is would be the body of the function, and the return type of the body must be the return type of the function.
But yes, unlike ML (I suppose, I don't know ML), I don't think people in Rust say like that.

2 Likes

For a single type Rust doesn't really have that, but for generics that sounds like traits: https://doc.rust-lang.org/stable/book/ch10-02-traits.html

2 Likes

So, taking OCaml as a typical example of an ML language, the "signature of an API" you are talking about could be something like:

API

module type Stack = sig
  type 'item collection
  val empty: 'item collection
  val push: 'item collection -> 'item -> 'item collection
  val pop: 'item collection -> ('item * 'item collection) option
end

which defines an API called Stack.

Transposition from OCaml to Rust terms
  1. type 'item collection