Is there a checklist for review of unsafe code?

Hello, I'm new to the Rust community but have been experimenting with Rust for a few weeks now. I'm looking at implementing a data structure that could use some unsafe code to make it performant. However, before doing that, I've read through the Rustonomicon and found some good material on what can be done with unsafe and some of the pitfalls.

I was wondering if there is an agreed upon list of things to manually verify through code review when using unsafe. It would seem to me that having a list of all of the checks that are skipped by the compiler for unsafe code would be helpful to make sure manual inspection of such code is thorough.

Thanks,
Tim

2 Likes

I don't think there is one single widely agreed upon list yet. But https://github.com/rust-lang/unsafe-code-guidelines/ is an effort in that direction, which already produced many interesting discussions. Feel free to read through what they already published, what they are currently discussing in the issue tracker, and get in touch with the authors if you have extra questions!

1 Like

Thank you. I'll give this a review. My initial impression is that it is very much a work in progress.

1 Like

And I think your initial impression is quite right :slight_smile: It's the largest effort in that direction that I'm aware of, but is quite far from offering a "production-quality" reference.

Not a checklist, but miri checks for some known problems when interpreting code, so exercising unsafe code under miri may catch bugs.

2 Likes

Thanks for the pointer!