Is there a canonical way to read a unicode file one 'char' at a time, respecting BOM

I'm very new to Rust so I may be thinking about this wrong or missing something simple.

Does Rust have a facility such that I can open a file as (Unicode) 'text' and it will read/respect the BOM (if available) and allow me to iterate over the contents of that file returning a Rust char type for each 'character' (Unicode Scalar Value) found?

I'm imagining something like:

​let mut chr: char;
// 'AsUnicode()' would indicate dev expects the file is a Unicode encoding, but may
// not know the number of bytes per scalar value or endianness
​let f = File::open(filename).AsUnicode(); 
​let mut rdr = BufReader::new(f);
​while (true) {
    ​let mut x: [char; 1] = [0];
    ​let n = rdr.read(&mut x);
    ​chr = x[0];
   ​ ...

I know the above is not valid Rust but hopefully it's close enough to get the idea. Most examples I see will read the input/file as a line. This makes sense given that Rust strings are vector of u8 which can be enumerated as byte or char, but what happens if I have a file with three 200 GB lines (i.e. lines longer than reasonable fit in memory)?

I think as I understand Rust better I may be able to extent File and Read to do what I want, but I want to make sure that there isn't already a way to do this.

Well, the standard library includes the functionality to parse UTF-16, but it do the actual parsing part with the BOM — it just takes an array of u16, and how you build the u16 from the individual bytes depends on the BOM.

You can certainly do this without reading the file line-by-line. Just read the data into a buffer and start decoding.

I'm not aware of a crate that does this, but it could definitely exist.

1 Like

There's no such thing as a Unicode file. Unicode is an abstract concept that has many different byte representations, with UTF-8 and UTF-16 being the most common.

For UTF-8 files you don't need anything special. read_to_string will read UTF-8 data.