Is Rust suitable for developing AI framework

I'd like do some work in this field, because it can get better performance than c++. Dose anyone give me some advice?

Could you explain more about why you think rewriting stuff in Rust can get you better performance than C++? I personally feel what are more important are a clean-slate design of system architecture and some technical innovations (e.g., smarter ways of doing kernel fusions). Those are important factors for better performance (and perhaps usability and more).

But having said that, I'm also very interested in the current state of the ecosystem in Rust for developing ML frameworks (e.g., linear algebra libraries, Rust bindings for CUDA/ROCm, and the ability to write CUDA kernel in Rust).

2 Likes

BURN seems to be a deep learning framework in Rust, currently in active development.

1 Like

Thx~

I have been developing neural network operators for 3 years. There are a lot of bugs when our operators interactive with our own neural network framwork. These problems are difficult to solve, espeically the overflow bug. So I think if we can use Rust rewrite the framwork, we do not need to waste out time in the overflow bug.

Yes, it is.

About performance:
Rust is a little faster one than C++, but Iā€™d not recommend to expect 100000% boost. The most important thing about performance is algorithm.

1 Like