Is Rust ARM Cortex-A7 ready?

Hello, I am not sure that I am posting on the right section of the forum.

I am in the process of choosing the programming language that I'll use to develop a Linux application for the FreedomBox (Dual Core ARM Cortex-A7 processor).

I hesitate between Go and Rust. But since I already know Go, I'd like to try Rust.

However, I just want to make sure that I will be able to cross compiler from my Intel x86_64 GNU/Linux workstation without losing time because of problems related to cross compilation.

Note : I am an old programmer that started as a C developer for real time embedded systems (under VxWorks, LynxOS). But then I went to the information system area and started using Perl, PHP, Python, Java, JavaScript... and now Go. I just want to develop a free, security oriented, applications that can run on the FreedomBox (and Intel workstations/servers as well). I have to cross compile... but I don't want to fight with the compiler since my goal is to write this application.

By reading the Rust documentation, it seems to me that it's OK. ARM Cortex-A7 is supported. However, it's not entirely clear (I haven't played with cross compilation for 20 years... and it was with GCC).

Please could you confirm I am right when I think that cross compilation from Intel x86_64 GNU/Linux to ARM Cortex-A7 GNU/Linux is supported ?

Best regards,

Denis

Short Answer:

Yes, you should be able to cross-compile.

The only time I've ever had a less-than-perfect experience with cross-compilation is when I've used a dependency which links to a native library, and that's because the native library's build system is crap didn't support cross-compilation.

Long Answer:

An ARM A7 running Linux would use the armv7-unknown-linux-gnueabihf target triple, which is a tier 2 target.

The wording in the docs is deliberately conservative, but this is what they say about tier 2 targets is: