Is it possible?

I am completely new to programming, I am in my 40's never had a programming job, Can I still learn Rust and work as a programmer?

2 Likes

There's no reason you can't!

Without knowing anything about your situation I think we have to say yes, it is possible. I'm sure we have all heard of people who have made amazing career changes.

The question then is, what is the probability that you can do it? That seems impossible to estimate as we know noting about you, your experience, your current situation, your motivation etc.

Note that at the current time the probability of even experienced software engineers who get into Rust finding work using Rust is pretty low compared to other mainstream programming languages. I suspect that will greatly improve in the coming years so by the time you have become a Rust expert you might just slot in some place.

It would likely help if you are an expert in some domain and want to work on software in that domain. In which case the actual programming is not the point.

2 Likes

Yes.

I found The Book to be aimed at someone who knows some general-purpose language already so I don't know where to start from scratch with Rust. But there plenty of languages and they are all just different syntax for the same stuff (more or less). I went from JavaScript to TypeScript to Rust. I was worried that I didn't know enough systems programming to be proficient in Rust but it turns out that JavaScript is more complex than the systems it runs on so I was pretty well prepared!