Is it possible to use high order functions instead of loops?

Hello,

I’m new to Rust and trying to learn it by trying to solve hackerrank.com problems. One problem is displayed below. My questions is that can I make it look more beautiful using high order functions? And how would it look if high order functions are used?

#![feature(old_io)]
#![allow(deprecated)]

use std::old_io;
use std::cmp;

fn main()
{
    let mut line = old_io::stdin().read_line().ok().expect("Failed to read line.");
    let l: u16 = line.trim().parse().unwrap();
    line = old_io::stdin().read_line().ok().expect("Failed to read line.");
    let r: u16 = line.trim().parse().unwrap();

let mut max_value: u16 = 0;

for i in l..r + 1
    {
        for j in i..r + 1
        {
            max_value = cmp::max(max_value, i ^ j);
        }
    }

println!("{:?}", max_value);
}

Using itertools, you can do the following:

extern crate itertools;
use std::cmp;
use std::io;
use itertools::Itertools;

fn main()
{
    let mut line = String::new();
    io::stdin().read_line(&mut line).ok().expect("Failed to read line.");
    let l: u16 = line.trim().parse().unwrap();

line.clear();
    io::stdin().read_line(&mut line).ok().expect("Failed to read line.");
    let r: u16 = line.trim().parse().unwrap();
    //                         Bug vvv see below
    let powers = (l..r + 1).cartesian_product(l..r + 1).map(|(i, j)| i ^ j);
    let max_value = powers.fold(0, |max_value, next| cmp::max(max_value, next));
    println!("{:?}", max_value);
}

The key to solving this in a more functional style is to gain intuition for what kinds of transformation each of the options does, and then apply that to the structure of your problem. I just did this by practicing a lot, I wish there was a better way :frowning:

For example, a fold is “i have a list of things and I want to make a single thing out of it” which is the fundamental operation you’re doing here.