Is it possible to pattern match Box<[T]>?

Seeing how slice pattern matching work, I feel like the following snippet should just work.

use std::vec::Vec;
use std::boxed::Box;

enum S {
    L,
    R(Box<[i32]>),
}

fn main() {
    let s: Vec<i32> = vec![1, 2, 3];
    let v: S = S::R(s[..].into());

match v {
        S::R([1, 2, ..]) => println!("yep"),
        S::R([2, ..]) => println!("bof"),
        _ => println!("nope"),
    }
}

As a noob I think of Box<T> as an owned &T so that it is strictly more powerful, thus I feel like the necessary cast should be possible, but I don't see how.

Am I doing something wrong ?

It's not currently possible to pattern match a box directly. If you need a reference to the inner value, convert it to a reference (however you like, eg. deref-then-reference, the as_ref method, etc.).

If you need the inner value itself (not possible with unsized types like slices, but it works with sized types), then simply dereference the box, which will move out of it.

impl S {
    fn as_slice(&self) -> Option<&[i32]> {
        match self {
            S::R(slice) => Some(slice),
            S::L => None,
        }
    }
}

fn main() {
    let s: Vec<i32> = vec![1, 2, 3];
    let v: S = S::R(s[..].into());
    match v.as_slice() {
        Some([1, 2, ..]) => println!("yep"),
        Some([2, ..]) => println!("bof"),
        _ => println!("nope"),
    }
}

playground

No. While for &T, there’s a & pattern, Box<T> does not have a “box” pattern (at least on stable Rust). It’s generally often-ish the case, that deeper pattern matching in Rust needs to happen in multiple steps… in this concrete example where you’re not trying to extract any values, you can still get away with putting the second step into a guard:

match &v {
    S::R(x) if matches!(**x, [1, 2, ..]) => println!("yep"),
    S::R(x) if matches!(**x, [2, ..]) => println!("bof"),
    _ => println!("nope"),
}
3 Likes

I did. Here: