Is it possible to cross-compile to a host/platform in which Rust codebase has no support for?

Let's suppose I want to cross-compile a Rust code to a host/platform in which Rust codebase has no support for, such as MorphOS.

Is it possible to do that?

I know that Cargo emit LLVM IR; I was thinking on convert the IR to C using llvm-cbe and compile the C code generated using an appropriate C compiler.

/\ Is this idea valid? Will it break compatibility, has it bugs or it will not work?

I'm not an expert on this, but in theory, most likely LLVM already has the codegen backend for your CPU architecture, you only need a linker (and of course, you must port/implement the libraries, I think at least core to make a no_std crate work)

2 Likes

@nerditation

Sorry for asking this, but I'm newbie yet introducing myself into the language, the libraries you said are crates? How could I port the libraries to an host in which Rust has no codebase support for?

The porting you said, is it compiling the core library with a cross-compiler (if the answer is yes, it's easy to do that with help of crossdev of Gentoo).

Generally no.

LLVM's IR is not portable. It's not like JVM bytecode. It's more like assembly. It encodes a lot of specific and implicit assumptions about the target platform.

In a very limited way — if you compile a static library for a close-enough other existing target (a similar PPC target), without using Rust's std or anything reliant on the target OS, and then use target's linker to make appropriate format of executable, then maaaybe the raw machine code from Rust will be close enough to make it work.

More realistically, if Rust doesn't already support some platform, but LLVM does, then you can add the target to Rust.

If you want to go through a C compiler, then mrustc may be easier.

2 Likes

Small correction: LLVM IR is very similar to JVM bytecode but it usually encodes a lot of specific and implicit assumptions about the target platform.