Is async_std always better than std?

I am a novice to Async coding, But I do know that async/threads can hurt rather than help a program's performance if used incorrectly, I would think that Librarys such as Tokio would be good in most situations. But I wanted to know, should I overhaul all of my std code with async_std?

async_std, tokio, and friends are there to do a job. The standard library is also there to do a job, using a different approach. Neither is always better or worse - use the tool that suits the program you're trying to build.

Asynchronous IO can be helpful if you want to multiplex IO-based operations and state machines while being able to describe those state machines using sequential programs. The IO primitives in the stdlib can't do that (though they can be used to build that for yourself, if you want to), but not every problem needs that, either. A purely serial program, using blocking IO, is more than adequate for many problems and a better fit for some than async privitives would be.

3 Likes

Generally blocking uses of async APIs are slower than just using equivalent blocking APIs. Sometimes dramatically so. At best, they require a system call to start the request and another to finish it, but often they also require heap allocation of buffers instead of being able to use the stack, and so on.

This is not a problem for their use case, which is when you are IO bound and trying to keep the CPU busy with a lot of parallel work, eg a server with thousands of current connections. A few hundred extra cycles per operation is a small price for not having to start and continually swap thousands of platform threads.

Also keep in mind async filesystem access in most libraries, including all cross platform rust crates I know of, simply use the blocking APIs delegated to another thread, and are severely slower.