Intresting how memory work for tuple.Please help

I am just a beginner in rust program, I was just trying to understand how data are stored in memory. Then I found a behavior for tuple. I couldn't understand why this is happening , please point me in right direction why this is happening??.

// main program
fn main() {
let tup: (i32, i32, u8) = (500, 2, 1);
mem(&tup); //same memory adress of "tup.0" ..ah fine predictable
mem(&tup.0);
mem(&tup.1);
mem(&tup.2);
println!();

//The variable "tup" points to adress of "tup.1" not "tup.0" Why???
//Is it because memory for "tup.1" than "tup.0" is larger??
let tup = (500, 6.11, 1);
mem(&tup); //same memory adress of "tup.1" ????
mem(&tup.0);
mem(&tup.1);
mem(&tup.2);
println!();

// If the above condition was true then why "tup" didnt point to "tup.2" in this scenerio???
let tup = (500, 1, 6.11);
mem(&tup); //same memory adress of "tup.0"
mem(&tup.0);
mem(&tup.1);
mem(&tup.2);
println!();

}
//function
fn mem(x: &T) {
let adress = format!("{:p} ", x);
println!("adress: {}", adress);
}

Output :
adress: 0x7fff9afb1738
adress: 0x7fff9afb1738
adress: 0x7fff9afb173c
adress: 0x7fff9afb1740

adress: 0x7fff9afb1778 //Why??
adress: 0x7fff9afb1780
adress: 0x7fff9afb1778
adress: 0x7fff9afb1784

adress: 0x7fff9afb17b8
adress: 0x7fff9afb17b8
adress: 0x7fff9afb17bc
adress: 0x7fff9afb17c0

The key point for search is probably "alignment". Fields of the struct can be reordered to ensure that:

• they all are aligned according to their types (u32 needs to be at the multiple of four, for example);
  • there is the least possible amount of padding bytes.

Tuples are structs, too, so they are optimized similarly.

1 Like

Thanks for the replay this is understandable.

I also got more information on this topic from this link :
https://doc.rust-lang.org/reference/type-layout.html

I think the data in tuple are reordered based on their primitive type for better structure and to optimize the memory layout.