Interview Process: Code Challenge

I've been tasked with hiring several Rust engineers and I'm looking for a way to go alleviate some of the typical challenges of hiring. I know there will still have to be the get to know you phone call and obligatory resume review by the non-technical folks.

However, for the technical side of things I would like to try something different. I've been thinking about what I would like regarding a technical interview and what would make me want to work for that company. I would like some opinions on my proposed "code challenge". Is it a terrible idea? Good idea? I know some will probably hate it, but why?

Trying something that I hope will help solve the hiring problem for a small company that can't afford to make mistakes in hiring engineers.

1 Like

Starting with the positive: it does seem like a fair effort at finding something relevant to measure.

Personally, however, I see two flaws. First, if I am a regular Rust developer and I have several of my own Rust repos, I don't see why you'd need further evidence that I can work on such projects. The "pick two" seems a bit of an arbitrary time-sink. Consider that your applicant may have no idea how hard or easy any of these issues are, or how much time and expertise it takes to solve them. Answering those kinds of questions is yet more work. And then what if they spend all that time on an issue they can't resolve? You asked for resolved issues.

Second, the idea that this is fair because I will get something of value out of it is questionable. If it were valuable for me to contribute to these repos, why wouldn't I already be doing it? It still comes off like you're looking for free work, because (A) as far as I know, you're running your business on this code, and (B) you're asking people to do real work here and not paying them for it. "Exposure" is not a respectable payment for real work.