Instrumenting MIR to trace program execution

Hello,

I'm quite new to Rust, especially as far as the compiler itself is concerned. For my thesis, I want to instrument Rust programs and insert additional function calls in certain branches (e.g., after if's) that trace the execution of a branch along with additional information. For this, I need the condition expressions to be atomic, which is why MIR seems to me to be most suitable.

From this archive post, I learned that I can modify MIR and pass the modified version back to the compiler. So what I do is run the compiler and register my own function where I modify the MIR of a function body:

const CUSTOM_OPT_MIR: for<'tcx> fn(_: TyCtxt<'tcx>, _: DefId) -> &'tcx Body<'tcx> = |tcx, def| {
    let opt_mir = rustc_interface::DEFAULT_QUERY_PROVIDERS
        .borrow()
        .optimized_mir;
    let mut body = opt_mir(tcx, def).clone();

let mut mir_visitor = MirVisitor { tcx };

mir_visitor.visit_body(&mut body);
    tcx.arena.alloc(body)
};

struct CompilerCallbacks;

impl rustc_driver::Callbacks for CompilerCallbacks {
    fn config(&mut self, _config: &mut Config) {
        _config.override_queries = Some(|session, local, external| {
            local.optimized_mir = CUSTOM_OPT_MIR;
        });
    }
}

fn main() {
    // define args and stuff

let mut callbacks = CompilerCallbacks {};
    rustc_driver::RunCompiler::new(&args, &mut callbacks)
        .run()
        .unwrap();
}

Now, this seems to work. In my MirVisitor, I want to insert a function call at some point. Let's assume I have the following program I try to instrument and a dummy tracing function:

use 
mod monitor {
    pub fn trace() {
        // do something
    }
}

fn main() {
    let inputs: Vec<u64> = std::env::args()
        .map(|a| a.parse::<u64>().unwrap())
        .take(2)
        .collect();
    let x = *inputs.get(0).unwrap();
    let y = *inputs.get(1).unwrap();

if x < y {
        println!("x < y");
    } else {
        println!("x >= y");