}
    }
}

fn main() {
    let mut v = vec![1, 2, 3, 4];
    let vec_iter = VecIter::new(&mut v);
}

I am trying to implement iterator for vector. The error I am getting is
cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for lifetime parameter in function call due to conflicting requirements

note: ...so that reference does not outlive borrowed content
note: expected std::option::Option<&'a mut T>
found std::option::Option<&mut T>rustc(E0495)

which is coming on line Some(&mut self.vec[self.current_index]). According to the message I am understanding that as next method have &mut self which will allocate a different lifetime than 'a there can be a conflict with references we get using self.vec. I saw the std library implementation and they also seem to do it this way only.
I am new to rust so my understanding of the whole problem can be limited.

1 Like

Generally it's not possible to implement mutable iterators in safe Rust.

The iterator must never ever return the same element twice, and the borrow checker is unable to understand value-dependent code logic to prove that is the case. So in practice you either have to piggy back on an existing function that uses unsafe (e.g. split_at_mut), or use unsafe and transmute lifetimes yourself.

4 Likes

Thanks @kornel for the response. I got the point. Just wanted to ask whether I interpreted the error message correctly or not. The error is because lifetime of &mut self can be different from 'a right ?